The overarching responsibility for governance of Ivy Learning Trust and its schools lies with our Board of Trustees. The Trustees are responsible for setting and monitoring strategic objectives, as well as compliance with charity and company law and Ivy Learning Trust’s funding agreements.


The Admissions policy for Ivy Learning Trust follows the Department for Education’s School Admission Code and School Admission Appeals Code. Ivy schools participate in Enfield and Hertfordshire County Council Local Authority’s co-ordination of admissions processes and its Fair Access Protocol.


Each academy within the Trust has academy-specific policies which can be viewed on their website (see Our Schools). These policies complement the key policies which are implemented in every academy within the Trust.

If you have any queries relating to our key ​policies or ​a ​policy not currently shown​, please get in touch.

Key Policies


Deborah Thompson

Appointed 19 July 2017

Deborah is the Chair of the Trust Board, providing strategic leadership built upon her previous extensive experience as Head of School Improvement for the London Borough of Enfield. She continues to provide school improvement advice and governor training in her role as an educational consultant.

Tony Wilde

Appointed 19 July 2017

Tony has worked in education for more than 30 years, 20 of those as a headteacher (including 15 years at Southgate School). He was involved in the establishment of a local teaching school and worked for many years as a National Leader of Education.

Jon Lovatt

Appointed 19 July 2017

Jon is the CEO of a six school multi-academy trust in the West Midlands. He has many years of experience supporting school leadership teams as a strategic financial planning consultant, having worked in the education sector since 1991.

Samantha Seth

Appointed by members 1 January 2020

Sam is a qualified accountant and has specialised in the education sector for over 20 years. She has a particular interest in strengthening governance and managing risk in schools, working closely with trustees, governors and senior leadership teams.

Joanne McGregor

Appointed by members 2 April 2019

Joanne began her teaching career over 40 years ago at St Ann’s school in Tottenham. After having children she returned to teaching at a three-form entry school in Enfield where she worked for a number of years before taking on the role of Deputy Headteacher. In 2001 she became the Headteacher of a village school in Hertfordshire and remained in that position for just under 14 years. During both her Deputy Headship and Headship she was also the Special Educational Needs Co-ordinator and the Designated Safeguarding Lead. Joanne has kept in contact with her Hertfordshire school and enjoys acting as a helper on school trips as well as going on the bi-annual school journeys.


Deborah Thompson (Chair)

Appointed 19 July 2017

Re-Appointed 19 July 2021 (second 4 Year Term

Deborah is the Chair of the Trust Board, providing strategic leadership built upon her previous extensive experience as Head of School Improvement for the London Borough of Enfield. She continues to provide school improvement advice and governor training in her role as an educational consultant.

Alison Bowman (Vice-Chair)

Appointed 1 September 2019 (4 Year Term)

Alison has over 20 years’ experience in the public sector, most recently working for charities helping to design and strategically lead support services for various health conditions. During her recent tenure as Chair of Governors at Walker Primary School, she led the governing board during an academy conversion, a new build agreement and an Ofsted inspection.

Andrzej Czyrka

Appointed by Members 24 March 2018 (4 Year Term)

Andrzej has extensive experience of data management and analysis within Enfield schools and has highly developed skills in problem identification and implementation of effective IT solutions, including compliance with the new GDPR regulations.

Kate Gibson

Appointed 19 July 2017 (4 Year Term)

Re-Appointed 19 July 2021 (second 4 Year Term

Kate has over 20 years’ experience in the social housing sector, 10 in a senior management position, where she has developed a wide skill-set, including ensuring compliance with all appropriate regulations, maximising income opportunities and contract procurement.

Peter Grant-Haysey

Appointed 19 July 2017 (4 Year Term)

Re-Appointed 19 July 2021 (second 4 Year Term

Peter is a qualified accountant with many years’ experience at a senior level in the financial management of a range of industries, including newly established businesses. For many years he was the Chair of the Lavender Finance and Resources Committee.

Afaya Syed

Appointed by Members 24 March 2018 (4 Year Term)

Afaya is an experienced criminal lawyer who has worked for many years defending those accused of illegal activities.

Kerrie Cureton-Williams

Appointed by Members 20 March 2019 (4 Year Term)

Kerrie has more than 10 years’ experience as a Senior Civil Servant following a career working at senior level in both the private and public sectors. With extensive experience in developing people policies, she is a Chartered Fellow of the CIPD.

Declan McDonnell

Appointed by Members 20 March 2019 (4 Year Term)

Before joining the Trust Board, Declan was a governor on the local governing body at Larkspur Academy Primary School. Declan is a qualified management accountant, working for an animal nutrition company based near Cambridge. Outside of work, his biggest passion is motor sport.

Susie Owen

Appointed by Members 1 September 2019 (4 Year Term)

Susie is an experienced civil servant who is currently working at the Department for Education as Deputy Director for Early Years. Prior to this, Susie spent 10 years at the Cabinet Office in various roles. Before joining the Trust Board, Susie was Vice Chair of the local governing board at Churchfield Primary School.

Chris Rule

 Co-Opted Trustee appointed by Trustees 1 July 2021 (4 year term)

Chris is the Chief Executive of LPPI Ltd and LPP Group. Chris originally trained as an investment risk manager and is a Chartered Alternative Investment Analyst. He also holds non-executive director positions within the renewables and project finance sectors. Chris has been involved in School governance for over 10 years as a governor and trustee, including as chair of the Board for a primary phase multi academy trust.

Ivy Learning Trust Committees 2021 – 2022

Audit, Finance and Resources Committee Curriculum and Standards Committee Pay Committee Local Governing Body Chairs
Deborah Thompson Deborah Thompson Deborah Thompson Brimsdown – Kirsty Barrett
Peter Grant-Haysey (Chair) Alison Bowman Peter Grant-Haysey Churchfield – Louise Ray
Kate Gibson Andrzej Czyrka Alison Bowman Eastfield – Karen Fernandes
Declan McDonnell Susie Owen (Chair) Kate Gibson (Chair) Larkspur – Kate Gibson
Afaya Syed Chris Rule Kerrie Cureton-Williams Lavender – Sam Buckley
Kerrie Cureton-Williams The Wroxham – Tina Alexander
Walker – Stelios Eliades
Woodside – Samantha Kersley
Crabtree – Phil Kendall

Members and Trustees who have stepped down in the last 12 months

Name Title Date of Appointment Date Stepped Down Appointed By

Executive Pay

In accordance with the Academies Financial Handbook (clause 2.32), Ivy Learning Trust must publish on its website the number of employees whose benefits exceeded £100,000 for the previous year ended 31st August. 

For the year ended 31st August 2020, there was one employee whose benefits exceeded £100,000 (in the band £140,000 to £150,000). Benefits for this purpose include salary, other taxable benefits and termination payments.

Governance documents which need to be available for public inspection can be requested by emailing the governance professional at