Who’s Who

The overarching responsibility for governance of the Ivy Learning Trust’s academies lies with the Trust’s Board of Trustees. They are responsible for setting and monitoring strategic objectives, as well as compliance with charity and company law and the Ivy Learning Trust’s funding agreement.


Details of governance arrangements:

The Members, who are the guardians of governance of the Trust, have the power to appoint new trustees (including the Chair of the Trust Board) and committee chairs and members where relevant. They also have the power to remove trustees / auditors if necessary. They are responsible for receiving the annual report and accounts at the Trust’s Annual General Meeting.


The Trustees meet at least four times per year and focus on the three core functions of governance:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  2. Holding the CEO to account for the educational performance of the schools and their pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the Trust and making sure its money is well spent.


To allow for greater scrutiny and oversight, Trustees have established a Finance and Resources Committee (‘FRC’), which also acts as the Audit Committee, and a Curriculum and Standards Committee (‘CSC’). The FRC meets four times per year and the CSC meets once per term. The roles of the committees are set out in the Ivy Learning Trust Terms of Reference.


A Pay Committee will meet at least once per year.


As part of its role, the Trust Board is responsible for appointing the members of the Local Governing Body of each school.

Each Local Governing Body meets once per term to assess the impact of the school’s Development Plan, receive reports on any school improvement reviews undertaken (including Ofsted visits) and discuss arrangements for disadvantaged pupils and safeguarding. Each Local Governing Body conducts visits focusing on key areas of focus for each academic year. In 2019/20 the areas of focus are:


–          Safeguarding

–          Inclusion 

–          Early Reading 

–          Curriculum 

–          Any School Improvement Priority not included above 


In addition, it meets annually to review for the past year and set the strategy for the coming year with regard to the School Development Plan, Pupil Premium Plan and Sports Premium Plan.


Deborah Thompson

Appointed 19 July 2017

Deborah is the Chair of the Trust Board, providing strategic leadership built upon her previous extensive experience as Head of School Improvement for the London Borough of Enfield. She continues to provide school improvement advice and governor training in her role as an educational consultant.

Tony Wilde

Appointed 19 July 2017

Tony has worked in education for more than 30 years, 20 of those as a headteacher (including 15 years at Southgate School). He was involved in the establishment of a local teaching school and worked for many years as a National Leader of Education.

Jon Lovatt

Appointed 19 July 2017

Jon is the CEO of a 6 school multi-academy trust in the West Midlands. He has many years of experience supporting school leadership teams as a strategic financial planning consultant, having worked in the education sector since 1991.

Samantha Seth

Appointed by members 01 January 2020

Joanne McGregor

Appointed by members 02 April 2019

I began my teaching career over forty years ago at St Ann”s school in Tottenham. After having children I returned to teaching at a three form entry school in Enfield where I worked for a number of years before taking on the role of Deputy Headteacher. In 2001 I became the Headteacher of a village school in Hertfordshire and I remained in that position for just under fourteen years. During both my Deputy headship and Headship I was also the Special Educational Needs Co-ordinator and the Designated Safeguarding Lead. I have kept in contact with my Hertfordshire school and enjoy acting as a helper on school trips as well as going on the bi-annual school journeys.


Deborah Thompson (Chair)

Appointed 19 July 2017

Deborah is the Chair of the Trust Board, providing strategic leadership built upon her previous extensive experience as Head of School Improvement for the London Borough of Enfield. She continues to provide school improvement advice and governor training in her role as an educational consultant.

Peter Grant-Haysey (Vice-Chair)

Appointed 19 July 2017 (4 Year Term)

Peter is the Vice-Chair of the Trust Board. He is a qualified accountant with many years’ experience at a senior level in the financial management of a range of industries, including newly established businesses. For many years he was the Chair of the Lavender Finance and Resources Committee.

Andrzej Czyrka

Appointed by Members 24 March 2018 (4 Year Term)

Andrzej has extensive experience of data management and analysis within Enfield schools and has highly developed skills in problem identification and implementation of effective IT solutions including compliance with the new GDPR regulations.

Kate Gibson

Appointed 19 July 2017 (4 Year Term)

Kate has over 20 years’ experience in the social housing sector, 10 in a senior management position, where she has developed a wide skill-set, including ensuring compliance with all appropriate regulations, maximising income opportunities and contract procurement.

Alison Bowman

Appointed 1 September 2019 (4 Year Term)

Alison has over 20 years’ experience in the public sector, most recently for working for charities helping to design and strategically lead support services for various health conditions.  During her recent tenure as Chair of governors for Walker Primary she led the governing board during an academy conversion, a new build agreement and an Ofsted inspection.

Afaya Syed

Appointed by Members 24 March 2018 (4 Year Term)

Afaya is an experienced criminal lawyer who has worked for many years defending those accused of illegal activities.

Kerrie Cureton-Williams

Appointed by Members 20 March 2019 (4 Year Term)

Kerrie has more than 10 years working as a Senior Civil Servant following a career working at senior level in both private and public sectors.  With extensive experience in developing people policies, she is a Chartered fellow of the CIPD.

Declan McDonnell

Appointed by Members 20 March 2019 (4 Year Term)

Susie Owen

Appointed by Members 1 September 2019 (4 Year Term)

Susie is an experienced civil servant who is currently working at the Department for Education as Deputy Director for Early Years. Prior to this Susie spent 10 years at the Cabinet Office in various roles. Before joining the Trust Board, Susie was vice chair of the local governing board at Churchfield Primary School.

Chief Executive Officer

Matthew Kleiner-Mann

Appointed July 2017

Matthew is the Chief Executive Officer of Ivy Learning Trust. He has considerable experience within the education sector, as Headteacher of Lavender Primary School for ten years and as an Executive Headteacher for five of those. His role as a National Leader of Education (NLE) has seen him complete significant school to school improvement work and he has trained future leaders through the NPQH and NPQSL programs.

Ivy Learning Trust Committees 2019 – 2020.

Finance and Resources Committee Curriculum and Standards Committee Pay Committee
Deborah Thompson Deborah Thompson Deborah Thompson
Peter Grant-Haysey (Chair) Alison Bowman Peter Grant-Haysey (Chair)
Kate Gibson Andrzej Czyrka Alison Bowman
Declan McDonnell Susie Owen (Chair) Kate Gibson
Afaya Syed
Kerrie Cureton-Williams

Members and Trustees who have stepped down in the last 12 months.

Name Title Date of Appointment Date Stepped Down Appointed By
Ken Youngman Trustee 28/09/2017 01/04/2019 Members
Julia Laker Trustee 19/07/2017 31/08/2019 Members
Ken Youngman Member


15/11/2019 Members